Rhino Hits The High Notes of the Seven-Time Grammy® Winner’s Career

With A 16-Song Collection That Features The Beloved Singer’s Greatest Hits Along With A Brand New Song

Available from Rhino September 29

LOS ANGELES – Considered by many to be the greatest living jazz singer, Al Jarreau is an artist of stunning range. He’s spent decades bending genres with his lithe voice, earning him the rare distinction of being the only artist to have won Grammy Awards in three different categories: pop, jazz and R&B. Rhino honors the superlative vocalist’s musical achievements with a collection that spans his entire career. AL JARREAU – THE VERY BEST OF: AN EXCELLENT ADVENTURE will be available September 29 from all retail outlets, including, for a suggested list price of $18.98 (physical) and $11.99 (digital).

The 16-song compilation bridges the past and the present, bringing together Jarreau’s greatest recordings with his latest, “Excellent Adventure,” recorded especially for this release. The track was produced by Richard Nichols and The Randy Watson Experience (Grammy-winning songwriter James Poyser, and The Roots drummer Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson), who have produced songs for Erykah Badu, Al Green and The Roots.

The collection surveys Jarreau’s life in music, spotlighting such notable songs as “We Got By,” the title track from his 1975 major-label debut; “Take Five” from Look To The Rainbow, the breakout album that earned him the 1977 Grammy for Best Jazz Vocal; “(Round, Round, Round) Blues Rondo A La Turk,” the 1981 Grammy winner for Jazz Vocal Performance Male; and the title track from Breakin’ Away, the 1981 Grammy winner for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance. All told, Jarreau has earned seven Grammy awards, with wins in four decades and continues to tour extensively in the US and all over the world.

Among the smash albums represented on AL JARREAU – THE VERY BEST OF: AN EXCELLENT ADVENTURE are 1976’s Glow (“Rainbow In Your Eyes”), 1980’s This Time (“Spain,” “Never Givin’ Up”), 1981’s Breakin’ Away (“Roof Garden,” “We’re In This Love Together”), 1983’s Jarreau (“Boogie Down,” “Mornin’”), 1984’s High Crime (“After All”), 1988’s Heart’s Horizon (“So Good”), 2000’s Tomorrow Today (“Just To Be Loved”), and 2004’s Accentuate The Positive(“Cold Duck”). Also featured is “Moonlighting,” the theme song from the hit television show starring Cybill Shepherd and Bruce Willis.

For additional information regarding AL JARREAU – THE VERY BEST OF: AN EXCELLENT ADVENTURE, please contact Christoph Buerger in the Rhino Entertainment Media Relations Department at (818) 238-6248 or


Track Listing

  1. “After All”
  2. “Moonlighting” (Theme)
  3. “Never Givin’ Up”
  4. “Roof Garden”
  5. “Spain (I Can Recall)”
  6. “Take Five” – Edit
  7. “We’re In This Love Together”
  8. “Rainbow In Your Eyes”
  9. “Just To Be Loved”
  10. “Cold Duck”
  11. “We Got By”
  12. “Boogie Down”
  13. “(Round, Round, Round) Blue Rondo A La Turk”
  14. “Mornin’”
  15. “So Good”
  16. “Excellent Adventure”
Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply